Crochet

Just Messing About!

crocheted motifs
Granny Squares with a difference

Yesterday I just fancied trying out some new granny square designs.  I didn’t have any particular project in mind, it was just that I had a spare hour and had some yarn and a hook handy!

To start with I tried my hand at design #54 from Edie Eckman’s book ‘Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs‘.  This uses a stitch I hadn’t come across before, the Leaning Tower stitch which gives you a wedge shaped stitch.  This is the right hand hexagon in the photo above.

Which got me thinking about how I might turn a traditional granny square into a hexagon.  I knew that just adding more stitches to the first row wouldn’t work as I wouldn’t end up with a flat hexagon.  So I tried using just two stitches in the group of stitches rather than the normal three and this worked out really well with a nice flat hexagon, this is the hexagon in the middle in the photo above.

I was pleased with my messing about but thought the centre of the granny hexagon could do with a more interesting centre.  I decided to start with a row of single crochet and then groups of three stitches to make a stylised flower in the centre of the hexagon.  I then continued using groups of three stitches except from row four onwards where I used just two stitches in the two groups that make up the corners, this was to ensure the hexagon laid flat.  This is the hexagon on the left in the photo above.

Lastly I made a square using puff stitches, see photo above.  I wouldn’t be surprised if there is a pattern somewhere for a square just like this but I didn’t use one, I just made it up as I went along:

Row 1:  Wrap yarn around finger 6 times, ch 1, 12 dc into ring, sl st into beg ch, cast off
Row 2:  With new colour, join yarn into top of any dc stitch, 2ch, 1 tr into same stitch, *2 ch, 2 tr* into each dc, 2 ch, sl st into 2nd ch, cast off
Row 3:  With new colour, join yarn into any 2 ch sp, 2 ch, puff st into same sp, *3ch, 1 puff st* into each ch sp, 3 ch, sl st to 2nd ch, cast off
Row 4:  With new colour, join yarn into any 3 ch sp, 2 ch, 2 tr into same sp, *(3ch, 3 tr) into next 3 ch sp, (3ch, 3tr, 3ch, 3tr) into next 3 ch sp, (3ch, 3tr) into next 3 ch sp* three times, (3ch, 3 tr) into next 3 ch sp, (3ch, 3tr, 3ch, 3tr) into next 3 ch sp, 3 ch, sl st into 2nd ch, cast off
Row 5: With new colour, join yarn into top of any tr st, dc into every tr, working (1 dc, 2 ch, 1dc) into each corner, cast off

Leave a Reply

