Clothing · Crochet

Crocheted Slippers

Crocheted slippers
Crocheted slippers

I’ve been having trouble getting hold of a pair of slippers that I liked, I’m not keen on mules and all the others I’ve seen have been very old fashioned.  So when I saw a pattern for some crocheted slipper socks I thought I’d give them a go.

The pattern I used was Jennifer Dougherty’s Adult Chunky Slippers pattern which is available to download via Ravelry.  The slippers took two balls of Stylecraft Special Chunky yarn and were quick to make.

I’ve been wearing them for several weeks now and they keep my feet nice and warm and are very comfy.  I’ve been putting them in the washing machine every week or more and they are now beginning to look a bit tatty and very baggy – in the pattern it does say that these slippers do tend to stretch with wear and that has definitely been my experience.  I will make another pair as do like wearing them but next time I will make them so they start off quite a tight fit and I am going to use a more expensive yarn with some wool in so that they stay looking good longer.

Leave a Reply

