Recipes

Sweet Tooth Goodies

Parsnip and Pecan Cake
Parsnip and Pecan Cake

I enjoy cooking but when there is only two of you it doesn’t seem worth doing a lot of baking.  Today I had friends around for lunch which was all the excuse I needed to do a little bit of cooking.  The time of year just seemed to shout out to me Parsnip and Pecan cake, this is a moist, lightly spiced fruit cake which I have been making for years.  The recipe comes from ‘Sainsbury’s Vegetarian Cooking’ by Carole Handslip which has been on my bookshelf for many years and now always falls open at this cake recipe when I get it off the shelf.  As the name suggests, the cake mixtures includes grated parsnip and is decorated with pecans.  Similar to a carrot cake this is a denser cake than shop bought carrot cake and, as it doesn’t have any frosting on it, is less sweet but still yummy in my opinion.

Gypsy Tart
Gypsy Tart

Whilst surfing the net for recipes and crochet patterns, as you do, I came across a recipe for Gypsy Tart which I’d never come across before.  Apparently Gypsy tart is an old Kentish recipe much loved by school children in the ‘good old days’.  Well it wasn’t something served at my school but the recipe intrigued me, basically you fill a pastry case with a mixture of heavily whipped evaporated milk and soft brown sugar.  This sounded so incredibly unhealthy that I had to try it!

There are lots of recipes for this tart on the internet but the one I followed was Donna’s Foolproof Gypsy Tart.  As suggested in the recipe I cheated and bought a ready made pastry case so all I had to do was whip up the milk and sugar and pop it in the oven.  The resulting tart wouldn’t have won any prizes in the most eye catching dessert category and I couldn’t get it out of the foil tray but my friends were game to give it a try.  The general opinion was you really don’t want a large slice of this tart, as you can imagine very sweet and sickly, but a thin slice is nice and I shall be putting this on my list of easy puddings for when the kids come home to see us and I want something just a bit different to make for pudding.

Leave a Reply

