Blankets · Crochet

Carousel Blanket Update

Carousel Blanket, almost finished
Carousel Blanket, almost finished

For the last ten weeks I’ve been making the Stylecraft Carousel crochet along (CAL) blanket designed by Sue Pinner and I have enjoyed it so much.  I’ve tackled a new joining method and added some new octagon, pentagon and hexagon patterns to my repertoire.

You may remember that I chose a palette of yellow, gold, orange, brown and various greens (Stylecraft Special DK yarn in Meadow, Cream, Mustard, Claret, Tomato, Stone, Lime, Spice, Saffron, Citron, Pistachio, Gold and Copper) inspired by the beautiful colours of the countryside we’ve had this autumn.

Autumn colours, Powys, Wales, October 2016
Autumn colours, Powys, Wales, October 2016

Sue’s pattern is easy to follow and although the blanket looks complicated it isn’t.  The only part I had any problem with was the joining method which was new to me but even this, once I’d read Sue’s instructions carefully, turned out to be easy.

The blanket isn’t quite finished yet as I want to add a few more rows of the colour change ripple before crocheting the final border but I thought I’d share my progress now as it was awhile ago that I posted about starting it.

The first part is the central octagon which got me hooked on this CAL as it looks great on its own and I ended up making five of these octagons, I’m planning on using the spare ones to make a small blanket.

Carousel central octagon
Carousel central octagon
crocheted octagons in rainbow colours
Different rainbow coloured centres using colour recipes from the Patchwork Heart

The next stage is to make the carousel bands, join them together and then join in the octagon in the centre.  I found this the hardest part, I don’t know why but the joining method just didn’t click with me at first.

Carousel central octagon and bands
Carousel central octagon and bands

Next it was onto making sixteen pentagons and joining them onto the carousel bands, I really love these pentagons and think the centre design a brilliant idea.

Carousel Pentagons
Carousel Pentagons

Having completed the pentagon round it was then a round of eye catching hexagons before adding rows of multicoloured ripples.

Carousel Hexagons
Carousel Hexagons

My blanket isn’t quite finished as I need to finish off the ripple rounds, add the border and then block it but am so pleased with what I have done this far.

Carousel Blanket, almost finished
Carousel Blanket, almost finished
2 thoughts on “Carousel Blanket Update

Leave a Reply

